Age group world ratings

“Rimi Vilnius Marathon” 2021 will be a part of the AbbottWMM Wanda Age Group World Rankings.

The AbbottWMM Wanda Age Group World Rankings comprise a one-year qualifying period during which athletes in nine separate age groups can compete in 175 marathons across the world to earn ranking points.

  • Qualifying period runs from Oct. 12, 2020 to Dec. 31, 2021.
  • Fourteen-month cycle for participants to earn up to two qualifying times and a place at the AbbottWMM Wanda Age Group World Championships in 2022.
  • The 3rd edition of the AbbottWMM Wanda Age Group World Rankings begins the day after the 2020 Bank of America Chicago Marathon and runs through to the end of 2021.
  • The World Championships will take place in the spring/summer of 2022 with the venue and details to be announced by mid 2021.
  • Participants in an AbbottWMM Wanda Age Group World Ranking qualifying race will earn points according to their age, time and gender, aligned with the following age groups for men and women: 40-44, 45-49, 50-54, 55-59, 60-64, 65-69, 70-74, 75-79, 80+.
  • The spread of the AbbottWMM Wanda Age Group Qualifying Events creates a truly global series throughout the year, giving runners across the world the chance to be part of a new era of age group marathon running.
  • A full list of confirmed events for 3rd edition will be announced in due course.
  • Due to the extended length of the 3rd edition of the world rankings to take us through to the end of 2021, some marathons will have their 2020 and their 2021 events included in the same qualifying period.
  • Where a race is featured twice in the one ranking period, runners can score points in both editions and use them as their two point-scoring races.

How to score points

  • Max points that can be scored in any race by an age group winner is 4,000.
  • Age group winners in AbbottWMM races automatically get 4,000 points.
  • The minimum amount of points that can be scored is 1,000.
  • Any age group athlete within 29 seconds of the age group winning time in an AbbottWMM race receives 10 points less, earning 3990 points. Runners within 30-59 seconds of the winning time receive 20 points less, and those earning times within 1 minute and 29 seconds less than the age group winning time receive 30 points less, etc.
  • In all other qualifying races, scoring is based on a platinum time for each age group and gender.
  • Age group winners in these races must run faster than the platinum time for their age and gender to score 4000 points.
  • The same points deduction according to time behind the winner applies.
  • If the age group winning time is below the platinum time, then the points awarded to the winner, and every subsequent age group runner are reduced by the time the age group winner has missed platinum time for the age and gender of the athlete.

Platinum times for each age group are as follows

Men Women
40-44 2:26 40-44 2:46
45-49 2:34 45-49 2:48
50-54 2:41 50-54 3:04
55-59 2:50 55-59 3:18
60-64 3:00 60-64 3:33
65-69 3:09 65-69 3:48
70-74 3:21 70-74 4:09
75-79 3:51 75-79 4:51
80+ 4:17 80+ 5:33


  • If a runner moves age group during a series, they will remain in the rankings category where they first scored Age Group World Rankings points.
  • Age group at the Age Group World Championship will be based on the athletes’ age on race day, and not necessarily the age group in the previous series.
  • For more information on the scoring system and world rankings, visit .